Vote June 11, 2019By: Guest Author, Vice President of Political Operations, Anthony Reedy

There’s an election every year in Virginia, and the first opportunity for many residents to cast a ballot in 2019 is coming up on June 11 in the state-run Primary Elections. In certain state legislative and local districts, voters will get a chance to select either the Republican or Democratic nominees for the November General Election.

The first step is to make sure you’re registered to vote.  If you’re new to Virginia or recently moved within the Commonwealth, you’ll need to register again to vote.  You can check your Voter Registration status and apply to vote on the Department of Elections website. The deadline to register to vote in the June 11 Primary Election is May 20.

If you won’t be able to make it to the polls on June 11, you can vote by-mail or early in-person by absentee ballot. June 4 is the last day to request a by-mail absentee ballot.  You can vote by in-person absentee ballot through Saturday, June 8, but be sure to check with your local voter registrar to find out about voting locations and hours of operation.

On election day, your normal polling location will be open from 6:00 am until 7:00 pm. Make sure you bring a proper Photo ID to your polling location.

The Virginia Department of Elections maintains an official list of candidates in state and local races.  Voters can also find more information about their voting districts at the non-profit Virginia Public Access Project.

We encourage you go to out on June 11 and support our REALTOR® Champion candidates who have supported policies that benefit you and your clients. The following are state legislative candidates running in the June 11 Primary Elections who are endorsed by the RPAC of Virginia.

State Senate

District 6 – Sen. Lynwood Lewis (D)

District 15 – Sen. Frank Ruff (R)

District 16 – Sen. Rosalyn Dance (D)

District 17 – Sen. Bryce Reeves (R)

District 24 – Sen. Emmett Hanger (R)

District 31 – Sen. Barbara Favola (D)

District 33 – Sen. Jennifer Boysko (D)

District 35 – Sen. Dick Saslaw (D)

House of Delegates

District 4 – Del. Israel O’Quinn (R)

District 28 – Del. Bob Thomas (R)

District 38 – Del. Kaye Kory (D)

District 49 – Del. Alfonso Lopez (D)

District 52 – Del. Luke Torian (D)

To learn more about REALTOR® Champions and the importance of the upcoming June Primary Elections, check out this episode of the REAL Politics podcast.