Elections have consequences. The decision makers we elect to office will have an impact—positive or negative—on your business and your clients. Your vote is your chance to help get pro-REALTOR® candidates a seat at that table.

Election Day is Tuesday, November 6, 2018. This year, the National Association of REALTORS®, in conjunction with the Virginia REALTORS®, are recommending the following panel of candidates based on their record of support for relevant real estate issues:

US Senate – Senator Tim Kaine

1st District – Congressman Rob Wittman

2nd District – Congressman Scott Taylor

3rd District – Congressman Bobby Scott

4th District – Congressman Donald McEachin

6th District – Ben Cline

7th District – Congressman Dave Brat

8th District – Congressman Don Beyer

9th District – Congressman Morgan Griffith

10th District – Congresswoman Barbara Comstock

11th District – Congressman Gerry Connolly

There are two proposed amendments to the Virginia Constitution on the ballot this year.  The Virginia REALTORS® encourage you to vote “YES” on both initiatives.  More information about the ballot questions can be found on the Department of Elections website.

  1. Ballot Question

Should a county, city, or town be authorized to provide a partial tax exemption for real property that is subject to recurrent flooding, if flooding resiliency improvements have been made on the property?

  1. Ballot Question

Shall the real property tax exemption for a primary residence that is currently provided to the surviving spouses of veterans who had a one hundred percent service-connected, permanent, and total disability be amended to allow the surviving spouse to move to a different primary residence and still claim the exemption?

All regular voting locations are open from 6:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m.  Find your voting location here.

Remember, you must present a valid photo ID to vote.