The Code of Ethics is broken down into three parts:
1. Duties to Clients & Customers (Articles 1-9)
2. Duties to the Public (Articles 10-14)
3. Duties to REALTORS® (Articles 15-17)

Most Articles have supporting Standards of Practice, which are intended to interpret the Articles and are applications of ethical principles to specific conduct in specific circumstances. REALTORS® cannot be found in violation of a Standard of Practice, but they can be found in violation of an Article, as supported by a Standard of Practice.

The Articles that are most frequently alleged in ethics complaints, and also have the most violations are:
• Article 1
• Article 3
• Article 9
• Article 12
• Article 16